Keynote speakers announced

Keynote speakers for the annual Michigan ACE Women’s Network conference have been announced. The conference, “Make a Difference: Leading In A Climate Of Change,” is June 4-5 in Lansing. Register by clicking here.

June 4 speakers

Mona Hanna-Attisha

MonaHanna-AttishaFirst generation Iraqi immigrant Mona Hanna-Attisha is the whistleblower who exposed the dangerous levels of lead in Flint’s drinking water after testing blood lead levels in the city’s children. Hanna-Attisha announced her research findings to the national press and then took further action, including founding the Flint Child Health and Development Fund, which has raised millions of dollars.

Raised in Detroit, she is director of the pediatrics residency at Hurley Medical Center and an assistant professor at Michigan State University College of Human Medicine, where she leads Hurley Children’s Hospital Public Health Initiative, an innovative program that provides the public health tools to advocate for Flint’s children and their healthy development. In 2016, TIME Magazine named Hanna-Attisha one of the 100 most influential people in the world.

Beverly Walker-Griffea

dr-beverly-walker-griffea-2018Beverly Walker-Griffea was appointed the seventh president of Mott Community College, in Flint, in 2014. Under her leadership, Mott Community College was once again selected by the Aspen Institute’s College Excellence Program as one of the nation’s top community colleges.

Walker-Griffea has been a long-time advocate for collegiate student success, serving community college students in various capacities for more than 20 years. Dr. Beverly, as she prefers to be called, has a passion for ensuring all students have access to quality, affordable, and effective learning experiences.

She serves as the immediate past president for the American Association for Women in Community Colleges and as a member of the American Association of Community Colleges board of directors, as well as chair of AACC’s Leadership and Professional Development Commission. She also chairs the Oklahoma State University Division of Institutional Diversity, Advisory Council.

June 5 speakers

Judith S. White

KJP-HERs-Board-0014e4Judith S. White will retire as president and executive director of Higher Education Resource Services (HERS) on June 30. She has served the organization since 2005; during the early years of her tenure, the signature HERS Institute was redesigned and expanded to three locations, offering an enhanced curriculum to serve 200 women faculty and administrators annually.

She has led HERS partnership initiatives, including the 2012 and 2014 HERS Summits for Women Presidents and Chancellors; a research collaboration with the Center for Creative Leadership; and most recently a $450K grant from the Henry Luce Foundation for supporting women in STEM Leadership.

White was an administrator and faculty member at Duke University, Dartmouth College, and the University of North Carolina-Greensboro. She has been a senior fellow at the Association of American Colleges & Universities and serves on the board of Re: Gender.

Kathy Beauregard

beauregard-mediumKathy Beauregard is in her 21st year as director of athletics for Western Michigan University.

Beauregard is the longest serving athletic director in the Mid-American Conference and is just one of eight female athletic directors at the 128 Football Bowl Subdivision schools. In addition to her responsibilities overseeing the Division of Intercollegiate Athletics, Beauregard sits on the President’s Senior Leadership Cabinet. She came to WMU in 1979 as head women’s gymnastics coach.

Beauregard herself has received multiple awards in recognition of her outstanding service and leadership, including the Gerald R. Ford Sportsman of the Year Award, presented by the Michigan Sports Hall of Fame; the Lifetime Woman of Achievement Award, presented by the YWCA of Kalamazoo; the Under Armour Award from the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics; the Athena Award from the Kalamazoo Chamber of Commerce; the “Glass Ceiling Award” from the Kalamazoo Network; and Distinguished Alumni Award from her alma mater Hope College.